To the Far East we go to fly the BMW flag

BMW ///M Performance Parts Race Series – Round 03 – Red Star – 2022-03-05

A month after a hugely successful outing at the Kyalami 9 Hour weekend, preceded just a week before that by the opening round of the season at the Passion for Speed, the BMW ///M Performance Parts Race Series returns to earth with a bang in the dusty but homely Red Star Raceway outside Delmas on March 5. Now that everyone has caught their breath, the 45-car field that raced in Midrand is not likely to turn up in round 3 but nevertheless there should still be a healthy grid now that the season is into its stride and championship glory across all 5 classes is very much on everyone’s mind.

In Class A William Einkamerer (BTAS E92 335i) had somewhat difficult races at the first two events but hopes to have overcome the kill switch problems that dogged his efforts in Gauteng. Fabio Fedetto (BMW F82 M4) will join him in Delmas hoping to show improvement as he gets to grips with slicks. Sav Gualtieri will be hoping all the gremlins of his Savspeed BMW F30 335i has been eradicated so he may open his season with some points on the table. If all goes well, it is expected he will take the lead at the sharp end of the field.

Class A: Fabio Fedetto ( F82 M4)


In Class B Andreas Meier (#TrainedAmateurs E36 STC) and Carlo Garbini (Kimbo Coffee BMW E46 328i Turbo) will head another strong cast consisting of Salvi Gualtieri (Savspeed / Eataly Foods BMW E36 328i Turbo), Nicholas van Zyl (RSR BMW E36 328i Turbo) and the ever-improving Thomas Potgieter in a new Stone Hill Properties F82 M4.  Jan Eversteyn (African Surprise BMW E46 M3), Alan Hilligenn (C3 Shared Services BMW E46 328i Turbo) and Lorenzo Gualtieri (Savspeed / Pick n Pay Oakfields BMW E90 335i) are also in the field and looking for a fruitful outcome to the weekend. Jagger Robertson will miss this event due to him competing in Cape Town the same weekend in the 2022 VW Polo Cup Championship.

Class B: Jan Eversteyn (African Surprise BMW E46 M3)


In Class C Renier Smith (BMW E36 M3 Turbo) was quick off the starting blocks with his entry for Red Star Raceway and will wish to translate that promptness into a result to match. Lyle Ramsay (Fuchs Lubricants / Rich Racing BMW E36 330i), Trevor Long (Roof Surgeon BMW E36 M3) and Troy Cochrane (Arrow Automotive BMW E36 M3) are all back to get their championship quests underway, the latter having recovered from a broken arm sustained while he prepared for the 9-hour supporting event. Wadeley is hoping to repair his machine in time following an expensive altercation with a barrier at Kyalami. Mish-Al Sing (TuneTech BMW E30 325is) had an awesome weekend in the rain at the former Grand Prix circuit, and should the weather prove adverse again, who knows if he can repeat his antics? Hein van der Merwe (Stigworx BMW E36 328i Turbo) improves with every outing and will be in the thick of the action.

Class C: Renier Smith (BMW E36 M3 Turbo)


In Class D Varish Ganpath (Prodigy E46 330ci Turbo) heads a familiar crowd with Shane Grobler (Mayfair Gearbox BMW E30 330i), Dawie Olivier (International Race Supplies BMW E30 M3) and Eugene Gouws (Master Mowers BMW E36 M3 Turbo) all back to sample the delights of the Far East too. Like Mish-Al Sing, Manny Ribeiro (Bridgestone / BMW Car Club E46 330i Touring) was in excellent form in the deluge at Kyalami, the pair sharing the Driver of the Day Award, and the yellow track taxi will be followed with interest for signs of a repeat performance. Craig Herbst (Greenhouse Solar / Victron Energy BMW E46 330i) and Nicholas Herbst (Green House Solar BMW E90 330i) should also be relevant in the points chase after solid performances of late, with Vigan Naidu in the beautifully turned-out SA Auto Tech E36 M3 learning the ropes in only his third race and keeping his nose clean. Riaan Lubbe (BMW E36 328i) is another new name to the series with a debut race win at Zwartkops, will want to make amends after missing the Kyalami round.   

Class D: Vigan Naidu (SA Auto Tech E36 M3)


In Class E and current overall championship leader Nicholas Fischer (Inside Active Group BMW E36 328i) and Bernard de Gouveia (de Gouveia Accountants BMW E36 330i) have thrown their hats in the ring and will be happy to see master craftsman Bertie Rietveld (Bertie Rietveld Knives BMW E36 328i) in their midst, back after a long absence. Arrie van der Berg is another new name in the ranks piloting the ex-Thomas Potgieter A&A Dealings E36 M3 Turbo and he will be joined by Dewit Oosthuizen (ShareTrackin/ Spanjaard BMW E92 M3).

Class E: Bertie Rietveld (Bertie Rietveld Knives BMW E36 328i)


The Historic and Inland Championship round will also feature races for INEX Legends, HRSA Racing, Historic Pursuit Series, Formula Monoposto and various categories under The Legends of the 9 Hour banner. Qualifying for the BMW series is expected to take place at 11:10 with the first race scheduled for 14:20. The second race will also be the last race on the day at 17:10.     

Story by Tony Alves


Report and Event Photographs:

Media requests can be directed to:


BMW Car Club Gauteng


Facebook: BMW Car Club Gauteng

Twitter: @BMWCarClubGP

Print Friendly, PDF & Email