The crown jewel awaits BMW ///M Performance Race Series

BMW ///M Performance Parts Race Series – Round 08 – Kyalami Grand Prix Circuit – 2022-10-15

After an absence of 3 years, the M Festival returns to Kyalami on 15-16 October and the BMW ///M Performance Race Series will be a focal point in proceedings with 2 races on a weekend big on entertainment for motoring enthusiasts. As expected, racing at the country’s premier venue has attracted the full complement of 50 allocated grid places with unbelievably, a waiting list of nearly double figures, given the over-subscription. The challenge of the former Grand Prix venue is a magnet to every racer. 

After the last round at Phakisa, Fabio Fedetto ( F82 M4) leads Class A from William Einkamerer. (BTAS BMW E92 335i) Thomas Potgieter (Stone Hill Properties BMW F82 M4) is third despite a no show in the Free State in round 7. Arrie van der Berg (A&A Dealings BMW E36 M3 Turbo) is in fourth place ahead of names like Adrian Dalton (Xtra Clothing and Shoes BMW E46 M3 CSL Turbo) and Sav  Gualtieri (Savspeed BMW F30 335i V8). The latter will race in Class B this time in the Sav Speed E46 328i Turbo). Leon Loubser (Bidwheels BMW E92 335i) enjoyed his outing at Phakisa where the nature of the track allowed him to challenge at the front and Kyalami should be much the same. Brothers Paulo and Rick Loureiro will also be back in their Combined Racing BMW F30 335i machines as befits the challenge of racing at the Midrand venue. Nishal Singh (Autonische BMW E90 335i) will be pitting himself against the big guns.

Class A: Thomas Potgieter (Stone Hill Properties BMW F82 M4)


In Class B Andreas Meier (Trained Amateurs BMW E36 STC) leads the pack and is second in the overall title race, but a surging Carlo Garbini (Kimbo Coffee BMW E46 328i Turbo) is hot on his heels after some strong performances of late. Young Jagger Robertson will unfortunately be doing duty elsewhere in a national series race and is a notable absentee. Jan Eversteyn (African Surprise BMW E46 M3) couldn’t resist the challenge of Kyalami once more, and solid results recently will also make him a likely favourite for podium places and possibly even race wins. Other regulars who will sample the delights of the majestic Kyalami circuit are Alan Hilligenn (C3 Shared Services BMW E46 328i Turbo), Lorenzo Gualtieri (Savspeed, Eataly Foods BMW E36 328i Turbo), and Paul Munro (Ascona Trading BMW E46 M3). Rob Gearing is also back after a couple of outings in his rebuilt BMW E30 335is earlier in the season. Returning to the fold is former champion Nek Makris (BMW E46 335i).

Class B: Carlo Garbini (Kimbo Coffee BMW E46 328i Turbo)


In Class C Renier Smith (BMW E36 M3 Turbo) rules the roost, fresh from a double win in the Goldfields. His recent momentum has propelled him to serious overall title contention and Kyalami may underscore the threat he poses. Trevor Long (Roof Surgeon BMW E36 M3) has been a model of consistency and second place in the Class C log is proof of that. Mish Al-Sing (TuneTech BMW E30 325is) missed the Free State leg of the championship entirely which has cost him a serious haul of points, but he is still in third place, ahead of Hein van der Merwe who lost sponsor Adrian Burford (Stigworx) to an untimely death earlier in the year. Hein has gamely continued although round 7 at Phakisa was also a non-vent due to mechanical issues. Dawie Olivier (International Race Supplies BMW E30 M3) has shown strong form of late but the real and pleasant surprise has been Dewit Oosthuizen (Spanjaard, Jonnesway Tools, Share Tracking BMW E92 M3) who is in his first year in the series and showing he is able to fight for wins.  Troy Cochran (Arrow Automotive/NGK/ATE BMW E36 M3) is also at his solid reliable best. Varish Ganpath (Prodigy BMW E46 330ci Turbo) is back after missing the trip to Phakisa in September. Some newer names will join the cast at Kyalami. Nick Naidoo (Wardens Cartage BMW E82 1M) returns, as do Vigen Naidu (SA Autotech BMW E36 M3) and Uli Sanne (BMW E9 3.0 CSL), the challenge of the former Grand Prix venue proving irresistible. Matthew Wadeley (BMW E36 M3) is a late entry. Last but not least, Mikaeel Pitamber (BMW F21 235i) is back after last racing in the series at this prized piece of real estate in February.

Class C: Troy Cochran (Arrow Automotive/NGK/ATE BMW E36 M3)


In Class D Shane Grobler (Mayfair Gearbox BMW E30 330i) leads the title chase and is also firmly in overall championship contention. Craig Herbst (Victron Energy BMW E46 330i) is second in the class after strong performances in recent rounds, with the evergreen Manny Ribeiro (BMW E46 330i Touring) in third. Nicholas Herbst (Greenhouse BMW E90 330i) is next up, also in a rich vein of form is BMW ///M Performance Parts Race Series Chairman Bernard de Gouveia (de Gouveia Accountants BMW E46 330cs) was beset with a loss of power at Phakisa but hopes to have that cured. Jaco Storm (True Wood Furniture BMW E46 330i Turbo) won race 2 in the Goldfields and has put his name forward as one to watch.  Eugene Gouws (Master Mowers BMW E36 M3 Turbo) also took part in the previous round and joins the cast again. Anand Naidu (SA Auto Tech BMW E36 M3) last competed at Red Star in July and re-enters the fray. 

Class D: Eugene Gouws (Master Mowers BMW E36 M3 Turbo)


In Class E a slew of unfamiliar names has joined the regulars. Heading the class is Nicholas Fischer (Inside Active Group BMW E36 328i) who also still leads the overall championship. A DNS in race 2 at Phakisa may prove costly in the final tally so a good result at Kyalami is imperative. Dave Rehse (D&K Racing BMW E36 328i) joins him and has been a thorn in the leader’s side all season. Mike Grobler (Grobler Motorsport BMW E36/7 Z3) is delighted to be back after having to spectate at the previous round. After a handful of outings in 2022, Arri van Heerden (V-Tech Motorsport BMW E30 320i) makes another appearance albeit not in his customary orange bullet. Shaun Dodd (BMW E36 328i) has raced on occasion this year and is also back. The unusual suspects in the group are Zaheer Seedat (Salt-Water Marketing BMW E36 328i), Neil Pillay (Paradigm Motorsport BMW F80M3), Farhaad Ebrahim (The Car Collector BMW E36 328i) Speedy Car Sales uncle and nephew duo Farouk (BMW E30 M3) and Mohamed Dangor (BMW E30 325is), and Javelin Ramsamy (Wardens Cartage BMW E36 328i) all of whom have no desire to just bolster the field. The qualifying times for Farouk and Mohamed and Neil Pillay will determine their class berths. Bennie Luyt (BMW E46 M3), a late replacement for Riaan Lubbe, is a rookie who will start at the back of the class.  

BMW M Performance Parts Race Series – Photograph by Reynard Gelderblom


This will be the penultimate round of a hard-fought championship and with the overall and class titles on the line, Kyalami will be the perfect backdrop for a weekend celebrating all things BMW. 


For more on the M Fest / 50 Years of M go to

Report and Event Photographs:

Media requests can be directed to:


BMW Car Club Gauteng


Facebook: BMW Car Club Gauteng

Twitter: @BMWCarClubGP

Print Friendly, PDF & Email