National 2020 Extreme Festival starts on high note at Zwartkops

Dario Busi. Picture:

The national segment of this year’s Extreme Festival kicked off at the near Pretoria on Saturday, with eight motorsport disciplines on four and two wheels providing various spectacular displays.

Top billing on the programme belonged to the Oettinger Polo Cup contingent, where 23 contenders took to the tarmac. After taking pole position in the morning’s qualifying session, Dario Busi (Universal Health Polo), won race one ahead of Justin Oates (Total Excellium Polo), Clinton Bezuidenhout (Universal Health Polo), Delon Thompson (Universal Health Polo) Matt Shorter (Monroe Polo) and Arnold Neveling (Ferodo Polo). Race Two started from a partially inverted grid, saw Darren Oates (Total Excellium Polo) use his “Push to Pass” turbo opportunities perfectly, to win from Busi, Neveling, Jurie Swart (G-Energy Polo), Jean-Pierre van der Walt (Platinum Wheels Polo) and Shorter.

Nicholas van Weely (Magnificent Paints Van Diemen) narrowly beat Andrew Rackstraw (Investchem Mygale) to the opening Investchem F1600 race victory, with Andrew Schofield (Investchem Mygale) in third place. Rackstraw took revenge in race two, beating Van Weely to the flag, with Tiago RebeloTRMS Mygale on the final podium step. Race three was started from an inverted grid and old-timer Ian Schofield (Investchem Mygale) took his first win for a long time, ahead of Antwan Geldenhuys (Abacus Divisions Polo) and Jarrod Waberski (DAW Mygale).

Nicholas van Weely. Picture:

Veteran Alan Holm (IMA Contractors Rhema) drove brilliantly to take both the Hankook Formula Vee heats from Lushen Ramchander (Liqui Moly Forza) and Gert van den Berg (Hankook Rhema). 

Justin Robertson (Liqui Moly Legend) won the first Liqui Moly INEX Legends race from Ian Upton (RU Legend) and defending champion Jagger Robertson (Big Boss Auto Legend). Race two went to Jagger Robertson, ahead of Justin Robertson and Gerard Roux (Rubro Legend). Jagger won race three as well, chased home by Richard van Heerde (Browndeck Legend) and Charl Roux (Rubro Building Legend).

The first Pozidrive VW Challenge race went to Lyle Ramsay (Fuchs Lubricants Polo), chased to the finish line by Rory Atkinson (BHIT Polo) and Bevin Masters (CPS Warehouse Polo). Ramsay’s car suffered handling maladies in race two and he dropped down the field. The race then went to Atkinson, ahead of Masters and Dawie van der Merwe (Lee Thompson Polo).

Alan Holm. Picture:

Current champion Clinton Seller (King Price Yamaha R1) took the first NGK Bridgestone Superbike race, followed by David McFadden (Stunt SA Yamaha R1) and Lance Isaacs (Supabets S1000RR). Seller repeated his feat in race two, with Isaacs this time ahead of McFadden.

Reigning titleholder Graeme van Breda (Stefanutti Stocks ZX10) won the opening Red Square Kawasaki Masters race, narrowly ahead of Jordan Agliotti (Ridgeways ZX10) and Michael Smit (Kawasaki ZX10). Van Breda’s Kawasaki got stuck in fifth gear in race two and he dropped back, leaving Agliotti to win from Jonty Collard (Pappaz Pizza ZX10) and Teddy Brooke (Brooke Refrigeration ZX10).

Due to COVID-19 outbreak in South Africa, Motorsport South Africa followed the guidelines for social distancing set out by President Cyril Ramaphosa by postponing the 2020 calendar. A revised calendar will be made available at a later stage.

Story by Online Correspondent

Rory Atkinson. Picture:
Clinton Seller. Picture:
Print Friendly, PDF & Email