2020 National Extreme Festival gets underway at Zwartkops

The National part of this year’s Extreme Festival will kick off at the near Pretoria on Saturday, with seven racing disciplines to provide a full day of spectacular entertainment on four and two wheels.

Oettinger Polo Cup. Picture: Signature Motorsport

Topping the day’s offerings will be the first two rounds of the Oettinger Polo Cup championship, that will see 24 drivers taking to the tarmac. Pre-season victory favourites must include Keagan Campos (Campos Transport Polo), Matt Shorter (Monroe Polo), Stiaan Kriel (MotorMart Polo), Delon Thompson (Universal Polo), Chris Shorter (Champion Polo), Clinton Bezuidenhout (Universal Polo), Jurie Swart (G-Energy Polo), Darren Oates (Total Polo), Adrian Wood (Kyocera Polo) and Dario Busi (Oettinger Polo). Much interest will centre around the debut of former Formula 1600 single-seater champion Stuart White, who will tackle this new tin-top adventure in a Stradale Polo.

The Investchem F1600 category should see top contenders like Nicholas van Weely (Magnificent Paints Van Diemen), Andrew Schofield (Investchem Mygale), Andrew Rackstraw (Investchem Mygale), Tiago Rebelo (TRMS Mygale), Gerard Geldenhuys (Abacus Mygale), Alex Vos (Ecurie Zoo Van Diemen) and Brendan Tracey (Investchem Mygale) fighting for podium places.

Continuing the single-seater theme will be two Hankook Formula Vee races, with front runners to include reigning champion Jaco Schriks (Lube Station Rhema), Gert van den Berg (Hankook Rhema), Lushen Ramchander (Liqui Moly Forza), Alan Holm (IMA Rhema), Greg Wilson (Forza), Lendl Jansen (Bull Security Forza), and Brandon Hills (Mangaza Rhema).

Investchem Formula 1600. Picture: RacePics.co.za

The event’s largest entry will belong to the Pozidrive VW Challenge category, with 27 drivers to face the starter. Judging by the category’s first race this year, the man to beat must be Rory Atkinson (BHIT Polo),  with his closest adversaries people like Lyle Ramsay (Platinum Wheels  Polo), Dawie van der Merwe (Lee Thompson Polo), Waldie Meintjies (Pozidrive Polo), Chris Dale (Blue Bell Polo), Robyn Kriel (Kalex Polo), Bevin Masters (CPS Warehouse Polo), Wayne Masters (Performance Masters Polo) and Elna Croeser (Race Technology Polo).

Rounding out the four-wheeler show will be three races for Liqui Moly INEX Legend cars, with probable winners to include current champion Jagger Robertson (Big Boss Auto Legend), Justin Robertson (Liqui Moly Legend), Charl Roux (Rubro Building Legend), Ian Upton (RU Legend), Lonika Maartens (FP Engineering Legend) and Richard van Heerde (Browndeck Legend).

Heading up the two-wheeler categories will be two South African Superbike races, with defending champion Clinton Seller (King Price Yamaha R1) facing off against David Macfadden (Stunt SA Yamaha R1), Lance Isaacs (Supabets S1000RR), Byron Bester (Hi-Tech Kawasaki ZX10), Wayne Spicer (Wellness Group Kawasaki ZX10), Ricardo Otto (Yamaha R6), Brett Roberts (Linea Lights Yamaha R6) and Marius Koekemoer (Libra Ducati Panigale).

Liqui Moly INEX Legends. Picture: INEX Legends Racing South Africa

Current champion, Greame van Breda (Stefanutti ZX10) will be the victory favourite in the Red Square Kawasaki Masters races, chased by people like Jonty Collard (Pappas Pizza ZX10), Keith Agliotti (Ridgeways ZX10), Landi Sinden (Contract Truck ZX10), Sifiso Themba (King Price ZX10), Appanna Ganapathy (ART ZX10), Wayne Spicer (Wellness Group ZX10), Gareth Bezuidenhout (Kawasaki ZX10) and Henk Schuiling (Air Systems ZX10).

The Zwartkops gates will be open from 7am, with qualifying sessions to start at 8am. Racing will commence at 10.20am. The pits will be open for all spectators throughout the day, with the venue’s Mini Moke transportation train to run between the pit gate and the various spectator spots at all times. There will be a kiddies’ corner and a flea market, with food and drink on sale, or you may take your own. Admission will cost R130 per adult and R90 for students, with kids under the age of 12 to go in for free.   

SA SBK and Bridgestone Superbikes. Picture: RacePics.co.za

For more information call the office at 012 384 2299 or visit www.zwartkops.co.za.    

Story by Online Correspondent.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email