Motul Clubmans. Picture:

Zwartkops hosts Historic feast

Nostalgia returned to the Zwartkops Raceway in style on Saturday, when the venue hosted a round of this year’s Historic and Inland Championships.

A large crowd witnessed close , great spectacle and unexpected winners.

Motul Clubmans. Picture:
Motul . Picture:

Topping the programme were two combined races for Pre-1974 Sports and Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Cars. Richard Schuhardt (RS Botswana Porsche RSR) took the first sports car race from Rui Campos (Porsche 911 RSR) and Andre’ van der Merwe (Evapco Porsche RSR). Schuhardt was mistakenly black-flagged in race two and the Campos car expired, which left Richard Pott (Porsche RSR) to win from George Avvakoumides (Ocean Basket Porsche RSR) and Van der Merwe. Jeffrey Kruger (Ford Fairlane) won both the saloon car races, leading home Chad ten Doeschate (Chev Camaro) and Neil Lobb (Ford Mustang).

Tom Campher Motors Volvo 122 team drivers Vic Campher and Alan Poulter dominated the first race for SKF Under Two-litre Legend Saloon Cars, leading home Patrick Gearing (Spanner Worx Alfa Giulia). Poulter won race two from Campher, with Jody Robertson (Alfa Giulia) third. Behind him defending Ishmael Baloyi (GSM Dart) won the race for Pre-1966 Little Giants, followed by Christopher Carlisle-Kitz (Twiga Anglia) and Brian Rowlings (Ford Anglia). Robbie Frank (Lotus 23) won race two, ahead of Baloyi and Adrian Velaers (Lotus Cortina).

Richard Schubart also took his Porsche to victory in the opening Motul Clubmans race, followed by Marius Jacobs (AAA Recovery Nissan Tigra) and (ATPM CRX Turbo). Pottas won race two from Jacobs and Schuhardt.

Brendon Parker (Blitz Spares Datsun) took both the races for Midvaal Historic Cars, ahead of Rene Janse van Rensburg (SVTech Ford Escort) and Ian Kilburn (SVTech Datsun GX).

The opening race for Pre-1980 Saloon Cars went to Sophos Pantazis (Datsun 240Z), ahead of Andre’ Ten Napel (TNMC Medical VW Scirocco) and Sean Hepburn (HIG Datsun 1200 GX). Rene Janse van Rensburg (SVTech Ford Escort) won race two from Pantazis and Ten Napel.

The first combined race for Monoposto and Formula Ford Kent cars produced a victory for Org Geldenhuis (Abacus Speads), followed by Louis van der Merwe (VW Commercial Swift). Dean Venter (TEU SA Swift) and David Jermy Beauty Factory  Van Diemen took turns in the third place.

Reigning champion Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Taylon)won the first race from Brad Benningfield (General Energy Caterham) and Johan Nel (Nelize Birkin). Kruger won race two as well, followed by Rudi Barnard (Barneys Birkin) and Nel.

The first race for Liqui Moly Inex Legend cars went to Jagger Robertson (Big Boss Auto Legend), beating (Inex Legend) and Chris Hoy (Wendy Factory Legend) to the flag. Erasmus won the next time out, leading Chris Hoy (Wendy Factory Legend) and Richard van Heerde (Browndeck Legend) to the line. Robertson won race three, ahead of Erasmus and Andre’ Larson (Enviroaire Legend).

The opening Charlies Superspar Historic Pursuit race went to Michael Mateus (Renato BMW M535i), ahead of Machiel Oberholzer (Mercedes 190e) and Dennis McBeath (Mtipi Renault). 

Race two was won by Henk de Klerk (Pajero Honda Civic), followed by Jose Vasques (Mercedes 280CE) and Bert van Aarle (Lotus Elite).

Story by Online Correspondent

Print Friendly, PDF & Email