Variety and spectacle at Zwartkops Winter Challenge

A wide range of spectacular action entertained a large crowd at the Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday, during the venue’s annual Winter Challenge raceday.

Car Care Clinic SuperHatch. Picture:

Heading up the Extreme Festival event’s offerings was round three of the 2019 Mopar South African Endurance series, with 25 teams facing the starter. The four-hour race started on a dramatic note, when the leading Ligier Hondas of Nick Adcock/Michael Jensen and Riaan Botma/Sarel van der Merwe both pitted after three laps. The Botma car had a bad misfire and the Adcock vehicle a broken rear wing. With the fastest two cars in the race crippled, the home built Magnificent Paints Van Weely Special NR001 of Nicholas and Ronald van Weely took the early lead. Then Nicholas thumped another car and lost several laps while broken bodywork was fixed. That left the Charl/Harry Arangies Stradale Lamborghini Gallardo in the lead when most teams did a halfway pit stop. Then the Lamborghini’s gearbox exploded into a seriously expensive fireball. Which left the Point Blank Ligier of Fritz Kleynhans and James Forbes in a lead they were to maintain to the flag. Despite losing power towards the end, the Ligier crew clicked off the laps consistently and carefully, to take their first win of the season. Second and third, after a brilliant performance, were the South African built Nash MVW3 sports cars of Scott/James Temple and Andrew Horne/Howard Blake. Fourth, after a storming comeback drive, was the Nick Adcock/Michael Jensen Ligier, ahead of the Saloon Car category winning BMW Z4 of Jonathan du Toit and Ryan Quan-Chai. They were followed by Dayne Angel/Jarred Evans (Autohaus Angel Honda Civic Type R), Nicholas/Ronald van Weely (Van Weely Special), Dean Wilson/Gerald Wright (CCM Sports 2000), Peter Schmidt-Loffler/Bradley Scorer (Nash MVW3) and Graham Vos/Paul Sullivan (Ecurie Zoo Nash MVW3).

Point Blank Ligier of Fritz Kleynhans and James Forbes. Picture:

Earlier in the day Lyle Ramsay (Monroe Polo) led throughout both the MotorMart VW Challenge races, chased to the flag by Rory Atkinson (BHIT Polo). Waldie Meintjies (Allwagen Parts Polo) and JP van der Walt (Platinum Wheels Polo) took turns in the respective third places.

Wouter Roos (Nathans VW Polo) won both the races for Car Care Clinic 111 Sports and Saloon Cars, followed over the finish line by Bertus van Jaarsveld (TB Racing Polo). Johan Hattingh (Stradale Nissan 350Z) and Wayne Masters (Performance Masters VW Polo) shared the respective third places.

The first Car Care Clinis SuperHatch race went to Jonathan du Toit (TAR Honda Civic), chased to the finish line by Brett Garland (AotObarn Honda Civic) and Tyler Scott (Episerve Opel Kadett).  Du Toit led the second race until the final lap when he had a high speed off road excursion, leaving Garland to win  from Andre’  de Lange (Roofsure Audi A3) and Scott (VW).

Lyle Ramsay and Rory Atkinson. Picture:

Jaco Schriks (Cubed Coatings Vee) scored a victory in the first Hankook Formula Vee race, ahead of Gert van den Berg (Hankook Vee) and Lendl Jansen (Bull Security Vee). In race two Schriks was chased to the finish by Lushen Ramchander (TRA Vee) and Van den Berg.

Chris Clarke (AVO Suspension Titan) took the first Historic Single Seater race from Des Hillary (Buddpower Dulon) and Pat Dunseith (Merlyn). Clarke also won race two, followed by Mike Ward (Royale) and Hillary.

The next round of the 2019 Extreme Festival will take place at the Red Star circuit on Saturday, July 20.

Story by Online Correspondent.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email