Round 10 - Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series - 1 December 2019

The lead players are ready for battle, with the supporting cast waiting to spoil the party

BMW Car Club Gauteng and Race SeriesBridgestone BMW Track and Race Day and Round 10 – Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series – Kyalami Grand Prix Circuit – 2019-12-01

This coming Sunday, December 1 will see the popular Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series make their second appearance at Kyalami as part of the Bridgestone BMW Track and Race Day hosted by the Auto Bavaria Midrand in conjunction with Bridgestone and the BMW Car Club Gauteng. This final round of the 2019 Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series heads to Kyalami again, just a week after the famous venue re-enters the international motorsport arena. The curtain will come down on an enthralling season in which many have contributed to some great scraps at venues across the country.

Andreas Meier heads the overall standings, with just 8 points separating the top 3 drivers in the championship. Alan Hilligen and Jan Eversteyn tied on points trail The German by a narrow margin, small enough for either to clinch the coveted overall title for the year. Nek Makris still has an outside chance trailing 26 points should one of the leaders break out of class.

In the Class A championship battle, Paulo Loureiro (Combined Racing BMW F30 335i) leads his brother Rick (Combined Racing BMW F30 335i) with Stefano Martinelli (Dalucon Insulated Panels BMW E90 335i) in third spot. 4th in the standings, Darren Winterboer will skip the season finale, but Adrian Dalton (Xtra Shoes and Clothing BMW E46 M3 CSL) will want to take advantage of that to claim the spot from the Zimbabwean. David Coetzee (ELKSA Competition/Sav Speed BMW E36 M3 Turbo), Bruce Turner (Promigen BMW E46 M3) and Carlo Garbini (Kimbo Coffee BMW E46 330 Turbo) have also thrown their hats into the ring, with Sav Gualtieri (SavSpeed F30 335i) also likely to enter, so Class A will have plenty with which to entertain.

Class A Leader - Paulo Loureiro (Combined Racing BMW F30 335i)
Class A Leader – Paulo Loureiro (Combined Racing BMW F30 335i)

Class B should be a torrid affair with the likely overall champion to be crowned from its ranks. Andreas Meier (#TrainedAmateurs BMW E36 STC Car) leads Jan Eversteyn (Bavaria 0.0% BMW E46 M3) by just 8 points in both the class and overall tussle. Mike Grobler (BMW E39 M5) lies third and would no doubt like to finish with a good result. Oz Biagioni (Bio Pool Maintenance BMW E46 M3) has contested the last two rounds noticeably and would also like to see out 2019 on a high note. Other names in the Class B fray will be Len-Henry Gobey (LESAVERT / G&H Transport BMW E86 Z4M) and JB Breedt (Triplicon Construction BMW E36 328i Turbo).

Overall and Class B Leader - Andreas Meier (#TrainedAmateurs BMW E36 STC Car)
Overall and Class B Leader – Andreas Meier (#TrainedAmateurs BMW E36 STC Car)

Class C as always will be a busy kitchen, with master chef Nek Makris (BMW E46 328i Turbo) leading the charge, and also in with a strong shout at the overall title. However, there will be no shortage of cooks willing to spoil his broth, chief among whom will be Shane Grobler (Mayfair Gearbox BMW E36 330i), just a scant 15 points in arrears in the class battle. Others with their knives out for the pair will be Neil Reynolds (Valve Hospital BMW E36 M3), Renier Smith (#TrainedProfessionals E36 M3), Troy Cochran (Arrow Automotive BMW E36 M3) and welcome returnee Shaun Lamprecht (Wildthings BMW E36 318is Turbo). Jonathan Matos (Matos Sport BMW E36 328i Turbo) and William Einkamerer (BMW E92 335i) have also reserved their slots on the grid.

Class C Leader - Nek Makris (BMW E46 328i Turbo)
Class C Leader – Nek Makris (BMW E46 328i Turbo)

Three names in Class D have shone brightly of late, none more so than class winner Alan Hilligen (C3 Shared Services BMW E36 328i) who trails overall championship leader Meier by just 8 points and is tied with Jan Eversteyn. Hilligen led for much of the season, but lately has had to contend with the excellent form of both Rob Gearing (diebels Alt BMW E30 325i) and Varish Ganpath (Prodigy BMW E46 325ci), both of whom threw a spanner in the works in his quest for the overall title. Add Bernard de Gouveia (de Gouveia Accountants BMW E36 328i) to the mix and Hilligen will have to be at his best to keep the pressure on Meier to the last.

Class D Leader - Alan Hilligen (C3 Shared Services BMW E36 328i)
Class D Leader – Alan Hilligen (C3 Shared Services BMW E36 328i)

Class E sees the return of Carlos Gameiro (Lapace Construction BMW E30 325i) to the fold, after missing the BMW M Festival round due to business commitments. Nicholas van Zyl (Mike’s Auto Tune BMW E87 130i) now leads the class and will not easily relinquish the position. Colin van Son (Bridgestone BMW E36 328i BMW Club car) lies third with Manny Ribeiro (Bridgestone BMW E46 325i Touring BMW Club car) fourth and season newcomer Nicholas Fischer (BMW E36 328i) in fifth place. Cor Kraamwinkel (BMW 2002) returns for this round.

Class E Leader - Nicholas van Zyl (Mike's Auto Tune BMW E87 130i)
Class E Leader – Nicholas van Zyl (Mike’s Auto Tune BMW E87 130i)

The Bridgestone Time Trial Series will see entries from Dawie Olivier (Ariel Atom), Kris Budnick  (Dodge Viper GTS-R), Antonio De Freitas (Ford Mustang Shelby), Farhaad Ebrahim (Lotus Exige S), Leon Loubser (BMW E92 335i), Pieter Zeelie (Toyota MR2) and a variety of private and race cars. G&H Extreme Supercars sponsors, father Jimmy Giannoccaro (Ferrari F430 Challenge) and sons Ricky and Gianni Giannoccaro (Lamborghini LP570 Supertrafeo) will also be there to keep petrolheads entertained with their exotic supercars. The familiar Pablo Clark and Peter Kaye Eddie cars will also be on display with the BMW 745i Modified car also participating in the Time Trials.

Bridgestone Time Trial Series
Bridgestone Time Trial Series

While the Bridgestone Time Trial Series invites all makes of car and all levels of drivers to try their hand at the best possible lap time it is a requirement that drivers are holders of an MSA circuit license and vehicles are track worthy. The Time Trials are subdivided in four timed categories and a session lasts for 15 minutes. To take advantage of the Hot Laps it is required that passengers wear long pants and long sleeve shirts. Spectator entry is completely free for the day and people are welcome in the pits where they can meet the race drivers and sign up for the Hot Laps. Food and refreshments will also be on sale throughout the day. BMW Car Club Gauteng regalia will also be on sale.

Bridgestone Hot Laps
Bridgestone Hot Laps

The day’s programme will start as early as 07:30 with a host of track sessions as well as the race series practice and qualifying sessions in-between. Entrance to the circuit for spectators is free and BMW enthusiasts in the Gauteng region are welcome to share in the festivities which will include Hot Laps in the BMW Driving Experience M3’s around the circuit for a mere R200 per person.

Sporting such a great variety of super-fast racing machines in one day it is no wonder that the Bridgestone BMW Track and Race Day has become such a popular event. Whether you are there to watch the racing, or go for a Hot Lap, or just want to see some supercars in action, the entry price is easily all the encouragement you need.

Current Championship Standings

Class A:

Paulo Loureiro – 82

Rick Loureiro – 80

Stefano Martinelli – 67

Class B:

Andreas Meier – 150

Jan Eversteyn – 142

Mike Grobler – 90

Class C:

Nek Makris – 124

Shane Grobler – 109

Pieter Lombard – 87

Class D:

Alan Hilligenn – 142

Klippies Krige – 82

Varish Ganpath – 79

Class E:

Nicholas Van Zyl – 73

Carlos Gameiro – 63

Colin Van Son – 55


Report and Event Photographs:

Media requests can be directed to:

BMW Car Club Gauteng


Facebook: BMW Car Club Gauteng

Twitter: @BMWCarClubGP

Print Friendly, PDF & Email