Spectacular varied racing programme wows Zwartkops Crowd

Johnathan du Toit. Picture: RacePics.co.za

Despite chilly morning weather, a large crowd turned up at the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria on Saturday, to be entertained by a wide variety of historic and contemporary car racing.

Topping the programme were two races for SKF Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Cars. Their opening race was spectacularly close, with Jonathan du Toit (TAR Chevy Nova) eventually finishing three hundreths of a second ahead of Hennie Groenewald (TAR Mercury Comet), with Jeffrey Kruger (TAR Chevelle) third, another four tenths of a second behind. Du Toit won race two as well, chased to the line by Groenewald. Kruger’s car suffered electronic bothers, leaving Carl Pienaar (Lotus Cortina) to take the third place overall.

Groenewald, this time in a Chev Camaro, led the opening race for Pre-1974 Sports and GT Cars, but the Chevvie developed technical problems and he pitted after four laps. That left Jonathan du Toit (TAR Chevron B8) to win both the day’s races from Ricard Schuhardt (Porsche 911 RSR). Oliver Dalais (Ford GT40) and Mark du Toit (Lola T70 Spyder) took turns in the respective third places.

Jonathan du Toit. Picture: RacePics.co.za

After race-long dices, Jannie van Rooyen (VW Scirocco) took  narrow victories in both the Universal Health pre-1980 Saloon Car heats, just beating Johann Smith (SPS Mazda Rotary) to the flag, Alan Green (Escort Mk 1) and Stuart Konig (Northern Bolt Scirocco) finished in the third places, respectively.

Bjorn Gebert (FAS Alfa GTV6) won the first Midvaal Historics race, comfortably ahead of Deon van Vuuren (Supa Quick Mazda R100) and Brendon Parker (Blitz Spares Datsun CX Coupe). Parker won the next time out, followed by Van Vuuren and Martin Bothe (Climax Datsun Coupe).

The first Formula Monoposto race went to Damien Archer (Advanced Wound Care Ray), followed by John Maurien (Ray) and Carel van Heerden (Swift). Maurien won the next time, followed by Koos Posthumus (KMZX Formula M) and Hylton Morrow (Chaplins Eye Formiula M).       

The first Charlies Superspar Historic Pursuit handicap race went to Bert van Aarle (Lotus Elite) leading home Riaan Roux (VW Scirocco) and and John Simpson (Alfa Giulia).  Rob Tudor-Owen won the next time, followed by Rob van Aarle (Ace Auto Escort) and Willem van Niekerk (Marauder).

Jannie van Rooyen. Picture: RacePics.co.za

Topping the modern side of the programme, Darren Winterboer (Barons BMW M3) won the first Bridgestone BMW Club race ahead of Rick Loureiro (Combined BMW F30) and Stef Martinelli (Dulacon BMW 335i). Winterboer took race two as well, this time followed by Sav Gualteiri (Savspeed BMW M3) and Martinelli.

Brad Benningfield (General Energy Caterham) took the first Lotus Challenge race from Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Lotus 7) and Thomas Falkiner (Adaptive Resource Taylon). Falkiner won race two, just one tenth of a second in front of Kruger, with Rudi Barnard (Barneys Property Birkin) on the final podium step.

The first Motul Clubmans race went to the awesomely fast X-Tra Shoes Golf Mk1 of Adrian Dalton, followed by Bjorn Gebert (FAS Alfa GTV6) and Ian Ehlers (EFC VW Polo). Dalton won race two as well, ahead of Ehlers and Louis Cloete (AMS Tuning VW Beetle).

Darren Winterboer. Picture: RacePics.co.za

The first National Sports Car race was won by Fritz Kleynhans (Ligier), chased to the flag by Anton Muller (Birkin 7) and Klippies Krige (Lotus 7). Kleynhans won race two as well, followed by Anton Muller (Birkin 7) and Krige.

Willie Erasmus (Legend) took the first Liqui Moly Inex Legends race, marginally ahead of Jagger Robertson (Big Boss Legend) and Charl Roux (Rubro Legend). Robertson won race two from Erasmus and Roux. Erasmus won race three, ahead of Robertson and Roux.

The next historical race meeting at Zwartkops will be on Saturday, October 17.

Story by Online Correspondent



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Reynard Gelderblom

Written by 

PR Consultant, social media manager, photographer, video producer. Based in Centurion, Gauteng