Pottas, Brown and Ehlers top performers at Red Star Clubmans round

. Picture: Paul Blackburn

Round 5 of the Championship returned to the in Mpumalanga on June 21-22 to start the second half of the 2019 season. The championship, which is a performance-indexed based championship, allows all competitors to contest for the title across numerous classes.

Fielding a smaller grid than usual, Super Saloon Car (SSC) driver, Marius Jacobs (AAA Recovery Centre Tigra), set the pace in qualifying, while Keagan Pottas (AIPM Honda CRX – Class A), led the field of Modified Production Car (MPC) classes making up the remainder of the grid that constitutes the MOTUL Clubmans Championship.

Race 1 saw Pottas line up alongside Jacobs, in what has now become a familiar front row. Leading into Turn 1, Jacobs stayed ahead for most of the opening lap, before Pottas made the pass down the short-straight midway through the lap. On Lap-4, Jacobs retook the lead from the front-wheel-driven turbo-powered Honda, a lead he had to defend from the pursuing Pottas. A wheel-failure on the final lap eventually saw the Nissan SR20 DET-powered space-frame Tigra retire not only from the lead and the race, but also from the event. Pottas went on to win the race with Jacobs boasting the fastest lap time despite his retirement.

Class A runners, Brendan Hall (Tyco Honda CRX) finished in second with Ian Ehlers ( VW Polo) in third. Ian Ehlers also suffered a wheel-related issue during the race which saw him join Jacobs as a spectator for the remainder of the day.

“I’m disappointed to lose the race like that. Keegan (Pottas) and I had an awesome race today, probably my most enjoyable race ever. He’s a hard, but fair racer. We gave each other room and showed one another great respect out there,” said Jacobs.

Keagan Pottas. Picture: Paul Blackburn

The Class B win went to Bertus van Jaarsveld (TB Racing VW Polo) in the noticeable absence of Dewald Brummer and Louie Cloete, while Roan Ehlers (FEC Racing VW Golf Mk1) took the top-step of the podium in Class C, with Dirk Lawrence (LDM Tuning/Vaal Timber Honda Ballade) breaking out of class. Roan Ehlers and van Jaarsveld traded positions throughout the race despite being in different classes, mainly due to the circuit’s twisty infield section which allows cars with less power to compete with the higher-powered classes. The ever-consistent, Duane Brown (Brown’s Auto Ford Fiesta), claimed the Class D honours ahead of David Potgieter (111 Plumbers/All Wagen VW Golf Mk2 -Class D) and Ralph Kernes (Big Boss Auto Renault Clio – Class E).

Race 2 saw the entire grid inverted. With Jacobs not starting, Pottas had a more comfortable win having started at the rear of the grid when the lights went green. Within three laps, the Honda of Pottas was at the front and went on to win the race. Lawrence and van Jaarsveld followed Pottas, taking an extra lap to pass the slower-classed cars and went on to finish in second and third, respectively. Roan Ehlers was the only other driver to make up a position in Race 2 with a fourth place finish, while Brown and Kernes both dropped two positions to end in fifth and sixth on track. Potgieter, who came into Round 5 leading the Index of Performance standings, retired on Lap-3. The FAS Pty Ltd-backed Alfa Romeo GTV6 of Bjorn Gerbert, always a crowd favourite, ended his weekend having retired from both races.




Class A

  1. Keegan Pottas
  2. Ian Ehlers
  3. Brendan Hall


Class B

  1. Bertus van Jaarsveld
  2. Dirk Lawrence
  3. Bjorn Gerbert


Duane Brown. Picture: Paul Blackburn

Class C

  1. Roan Ehlers


Class D

  1. Duane Brown


Class E

  1. David Potgieter

Class F

  1. Ralph Kernes



  1. Marius Jacobs


Bjorn Gerbert. Picture: Paul Blackburn

The , along with MOTUL, and Big Boss Auto, would like to thank everyone that came out in support this past weekend at the Red Star Raceway. Round 6 of the championship is scheduled for the Phakisa Freeway over 16-17 August.

Story by Raymond Cornwell on behalf of Clubmans Association.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email