Paulo Loureiro. Picture:

Inland and Historic Championship – Midvaal Raceway – Report

The 2019 EV Dynamics Inland championship visited the Midvaal  Raceway near Meyerton on Saturday, with a full racing programme entertaining a sizable crowd.

Paulo Loureiro. Picture:
Paulo Loureiro. Picture:

Top billing on the day belonged to the Bridgestone BMW Car Club brigade, with 26 competitors facing the starter. Paulo Loureiro (Combined BMW F30 335) won race one, followed by Andreas Meier (BMW E36 STC), Jan Eversteyn (Bavaria BMW M3), JB Breedt (BMW M3) and Len-Henry Gobey (G&H Transport BMW Z4M). Loureiro repeated the victory in race two, this time heading home Adrian Dalton (X-Tra Clothes BMW M3), Meier, Eversteyn and Breedt.

The Universal Health Pre-180 Saloon Car races both went to Stefan Snyders (Porsche 911), ahead of Alan Green (Ford Escort), while Mike O’Sullivan (Chev SS) and Frank Davis (Ford Escort) took turns in the respective third places.

George Economides (Wealth Avenue VW Golf Turbo) won both the Clubmans races, with Adrian Dalton (Xtra Clothes Golf Turbo) and Ian Ehlers (FEC Golf Turbo) swapping the respective second and third places.

Amos Cockeram (Tigra Mazda) took both the Super Saloon Car races from Marius Jacobs (Tigra NissanTurbo) and Wayne Wetton (Tigra Mazda).

Stefan Snyders. Picture:
Stefan Snyders. Picture:

Deon van Vuuren Mazda R100 Rotary) won both the Midvaal Historics races ahead of Brendon Parker (Datsun 140Z). Gavin Lundin (Datsun 1200) and Travis Jensen (Datsun 1200) took turns on the final podium step.  

Starting ninth on the Lotus Challenge grid after qualifying maladies, Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Lotus) blasted through the field to win race one, ahead of Mackie Adlem (Adlem Auto Birkin) and Brad Beningfield (General Energy Caterham). Kruger won race two as well, followed by Adlem and Thomas Falkiner (Adaptive Resources Taylon).

Justin Robertson took an easy victory in the first Inex Legends race, beating Jagger Robertson and Willie Erasmus to the line. Race two – started from an inverted grid – went to Jagger Roberson, leading Erasmus and Jason Loosemore.  Loosemore won race three, a scant tenth of a second ahead of Erasmus, with Jagger Robertson third, another two seconds adrift.

Org Geldenhuys (Formula M) won both the Formula Monoposto races from Louis van der Merwe (Tigra Gti) and Karen Geldenhuys (Formula M).

Meanwhile Chris Clarke (Avo Titan) took both the Historic Single Seater races from Des Hillary (Dulan Ford) and Alan Grant (Lotus).

The first Charlies Superspar Pursuit handicap race went to Machiel Oberholzer (Aquaperm Mercedes-Benz), leading home Johan Swanepoel (Scorpion Alfa) and Kobus Brits (Trophy Datsun).

Veteran Dennis McBeath (Mpiti Renault) won race two from Wernher Hartzenberg (Porsche 928) and Althea Pretorius (Porsche 924).

The day ended with a 60-minute endurance race, which went to Sean Hewitt (Birkin), ahead of Stefan Snyders in his Porsche and Joe dos Santos (Lotus).

The next round of the 2019 EV Dynamics Inland Championship will be held at the Phakisa Freeway on Saturday, April 27.     

Story by Online Correspondent


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Reynard Gelderblom

Written by 

PR Consultant, social media manager, photographer, video producer. Based in Centurion, Gauteng