Darren Winterboer. Picture: RacePics.co.za

Fast-paced Freedom day at the Phakisa Freeway

A full programme and tight racing entertained Free State enthusiasts at the Phakisa Raceway near Welkom on Saturday, with the venue hosting the 2019 EV Dynamics Inland championship.

Darren Winterboer. Picture: RacePics.co.za
Darren Winterboer. Picture: RacePics.co.za

Top billing belonged to the Bridgestone BMW Car Club brigade, with 26 entries taking to the tarmac. Darren Winterboer (Barons BMW E92 M3) won race one comfortably, followed to the flag by Paulo Loureiro (Combined BMW F30), Stefano Martinelli (Dalucon BMW BMW E36 Turbo), Andreas Meier (BMW E36 STC) and Jan Eversteyn (Bavaria BMW E46 M3). Race two also went to Winterboer, this time leading home Paulo Loreiro, Rick Loureiro (Combined BMW 335i Turbo), Martinelli and David Coetzee (ELKSA BMW E36 Turbo).

Keegan Pottas crashed his amazingly quick A.I.P.M Honda CRX Turbo in the morning’s qualifying session. Then, despite missing some frontal bodywork, he drove brilliantly in both Motul Modified Saloon Car races, to win in front of Ricard Schuhardt (Porsche RSR) and Wayne Crous (Toshiba Polo Turbo).

Brendon Parker (Datsun 140Z) won both Midvaal Historics races from Deon van Vuuren (Mazda Rotary), with Duane Brown (Brown’s Auto Ford Fiesta) and Rene van Rensburg (Ford Escort) taking turns in the respective third places.

Thomas Falkiner (Adaptive Resource Taylon) took the first Sabat Lotus Challenge race, ahead of Brad Beningfield (General Energy Caterham) and Rudi Barnard (Barney’s Birkin). Reigning champion Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Birkin) won race two, narrowly ahead of Beningfield and Johan Nel (Nelize Birkin).

Keegan Pottas. Picture: RecePics.co.za
Keegan Pottas. Picture: RecePics.co.za

The combined Historic Car category boasted 34 starters. Their races both went to Ricard Schuhardt (Porsche RSR), chased by Jonathan du Toit (Daytona Coupe).  Richard Pott (Porsche RSR) and Peter Bailey (Baily Porsche RSR) took turns on the final podium step. 

Fritz Kleynhans (Cormenius Ligier) took the first Sports Car race, chased by Anton Muller (ATS Birkin) and Ian Smith (Shelby CanAm). The Ligier expired after the warmup lap for race two, leaving Muller to win from Neil de Later (Torpak Birkin) and Smith.

Both single-seater races went to Org Geldenhuys (Abacus Speads RM08), ahead of John Maurien (Gti Ray) and Karen Heldenhuys (AbacusSwift).

Werner Hartzenberg (Porsche 928) won the opening Charlies Superspar Pursuit race from William Kelly (MG Midget) and Rob Clark Citroen GS Club). Race two went to Anthea Pretorius (Porsche 924), ahead of Hartzenberg and Clive Winterstein (Porsche 356).

The opening Liqui Moly Inex Legends heat went to Charl Roux, after a race-long fight with Jason Loosemore and Jagger Robertson. Jagger Roberson won the next time out, ahead of Roux and Justin Robertson. Race three saw Jagger and Justin Robertson in the first two places, trailed by Roux.

The next round of the EV Dynamics Inland Championship will be held at the Zwartkops circuit near Pretoria on Saturday, May 18.

Story by Online Correspondent

Print Friendly, PDF & Email