Erasmus victorious in close Liqui Moly INEX Legends contest at Red Star Raceway

After starting the day in pole position Willie Erasmus took the honours on the day. Picture: Reynard Gelderblom

Willie Erasmus took his second consecutive race day win in Round 8 of the 2019 Championship at , Delmas.

The August 2-3 weekend saw Jagger Robertson extending his lead in the championship by 20 points despite not adding a victory to his 2019 tally.

Kyle Lawrence was the latest South African motorsport competitor to get a taste of the actions in the Liqui Moly INEX Legends Championship. Currently a regular in the Rok Cup karting championship, Lawrence competed in Richard van Heerde’s second car. As a new and non-championship campaigner he had to start all three races from the back of the grid, but made a solid impression in the day’s three races.

Saturday morning’s draw for the Race 1 grid saw Erasmus starting in pole position alongside Johann van de Venter. Jagger Robertson shared Row 2 with Chris Hoy while Justin Robertson and Andre Larsson completed the top-six.

Jagger Robertson extended his lead on the points table. Picture: Reynard Gelderblom

Erasmus made a good start in Race 1, but it was Jagger Robertson who wasted no time in getting to the lead. The six-lap race around the 4.0 km clockwise circuit saw the pair exchanging the lead regularly, but it was Erasmus who crossed the line as winner; only 0.065 of a second ahead of Robertson. Further back a similar scenario played out for the final podium position with Justin Robertson just beating Jason Loosemore to the line. Keeping with pairs-of-two trend, Lawrence beat Van Heerde to fifth place after they made their way through from the last row of the grid.

The second race saw Loosemore taking full advantage of his third place on the grid with the draw from morning being inverted. He quickly made his way to the front of the field to take a relatively comfortable win ahead of Jagger Robertson and Erasmus. Justin Robertson came home in fourth place while Larsson beat Ian Upton to fifth place.

Jason Loosemore took the Race 2 win. Picture: Reynard Gelderblom

The afternoon’s third race provided one of the fiercest tussles for victory in the 2019 season. The eight-lap encounter saw the field line up according to the least amount of points scored on the day. Justin Robertson soon made it to the front of the pack with Lawrence and Jagger Robertson slotting into second and third respectively in the running order. Erasmus made his way up from the penultimate grid-slot and found himself trailing the trio at the front, but on Lap 6 he moved up to second place. By Lap 7 he moved into the lead with Loosemore also joining the five-way battle up front. The fierce final-lap battle saw Erasmus, Lossemore and Justin Robertson crossing the line within 0.636 of each other. Jagger Robertson came home in fourth place. Lawrence finished in fifth place, but a post-race penalty of 10 seconds was applied for exceeding track limits which saw him classified in seventh position. This saw Van Heerde and Larsson rounding out the top-six.

Erasmus took the overall win for the day ahead of Loosemore. Jagger Robertson completed the podium. Erasmus and Loosemore also took first and second respectively in the Professional Class while Hoy finished third. Justin Robertson took the Masters Class honours ahead Larsson and Van Heerde. The latter pair finished on an equal amount of points, but with the advantage to Larsson based on his race positions. Jagger Robertson won the Semi Professional Class ahead of Lawrence on the day, however Lawrence’s points does not carry onto the season points table.

Kyle Lawrence impressed on debut. Picture: Reynard Gelderblom

Round 9 will see the Championship’s third 2019 visit to Zwartkops Raceway in Pretoria on September 6-7.

INEX Legends Racing South Africa would like to thank the following partners for making the 2019 season possible: Liqui Moly, , , and .

Story by Reynard Gelderblom on behalf of INEX Legends Racing South Africa

Print Friendly, PDF & Email