Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series Round 7 – Zwartkops Raceway – 2019-09-07



his coming weekend, the 7th of September, will see the popular Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series make their second appearance at the popular Zwartkops Raceway as part of the Inland and Historic Championship event. With no less than 21 races from other race categories on the day it is expected that this Beemer series will attract the most attention with their hard but fair two racing heats in this bumper packed programme.

Heading up the Class A battle will be current class leader Paulo Loureiro (Combined Racing BMW F30 335i). Brother Rick Loureiro (Combined Racing BMW F30 335i) narrowed the gap in the championship table to only six points after Paulo had to sit out from the previous round. Whilst Rick would like to remind his brother finishing in front of him twice in their previous visit at this track, they will both have their hands full trying to keep prolific racer Sav Gualtieri (ELKSA Competition / SAVSPEED BMW E36 M3 Turbo) at bay. Some more entries might be on the cards in class A but depends on who gets their cars finished in time.


Top contender in Class B is expected to be current class and overall championship leader Andreas Meier (The German BMW E36 STC Car). Still within striking distance and second in class is Jan Eversteyn (Bavaria 0.0% BMW E46 M3) that capitalised on Meier’s misfortune in their previous outing at this track. He will have JB Breedt (Triplicon Construction BMW E36 328i Turbo) and Mike Grobler (BMW E39 M5) as company to take the challenge to The German.

Some of the closest racing so far this season has come from Class C. It is expected to be no different even though current class leader Shane Grobler (Mayfair Gearbox BMW E36 330i) will be sitting out this round. It will remain a close run affair between the likes of Troy Cochran (Arrow Automotive BMW E36 M3), Renier Smith (BMW E36 M3), Nek Makris (BMW E46 328i Turbo), Neil Reynolds (Valve Hospital BMW E36 M3) and Jimmy Tsimenoglou (Big Boss Auto/SA Safe BMW E36 M3).


The so dubbed Class D “Brat Pack” will see class leader Alan Hilligenn (BMW E36 328i) face a stiff challenge from Bernard De Gouveia (De Gouveia Accountants BMW E36 328i), Klippies Krige (BMW E36 M3) and season newcomer Eugene Gouws (BMW E36 M3).

This season’s newly formed Class E will be headed up by Nicholas Van Zyl (Mike’s Auto Tune BMW E87 130i), Carlos Gameiro (Lapace Racing BMW E30 325i) and Colin Van Son (Bridgestone BMW E46 325i Touring). Also in the mix will be a visitor from the coast Marias Ellis (Auto Magic BMW E36 328i). Starting at the back of the grid because it is his debut race, William Einkamerer (BMW E92 335i) is expected to make good progress in his first time out in full racing conditions. 


With so many races planned for the day it can be expected officials to run a tight schedule to curb any possible delays. Qualifying is scheduled for 07:45 with the first race to take place at 10:50 and the second race to start around 14:45. Entry will cost only R100 per Adult and R80 per Student while kids under 16 get in for free. Tickets can be purchased at the gate which open at 06:00 on the day or from the website.




Current Championship Standings

Class A:

Paulo Loureiro – 58

Rick Loureiro – 52

Stefano Martinelli – 47

Class B:

Andreas Meier – 106

Jan Eversteyn – 88

Mike Grobler – 59

Class C:

Shane Grobler – 83

Nek Makris – 70

Pieter Lombard – 55

Class D:

Alan Hilligenn – 92

Matthew Wadeley – 61

Varish Ganpath – 47

Class E:

Nicholas Van Zyl – 59

Carlos Gameiro – 51

Manny Ribeiro – 40



Report and Event Photographs:


Media requests can be directed to:


BMW Car Club Gauteng


Facebook: BMW Car Club Gauteng

Twitter: @BMWCarClubGP

Print Friendly, PDF & Email